Ru En

School

One of today’s challenges, sustainable development, is acquiring a planetary scale in the Arctic dimension. Along with economic advantages, intensive industrial development in the Arctic has entailed large scale changes in the environment disrupting lifestyles and indigenous economies and the emergence of a new, often conflicting subculture of labour migrants. For Russia, the issue of sustainable development in this region is acute as never before: the Arctic and all of the country along with it as a major northern state is entering an era of industrial development, tempestuous economic and infrastructural growth, and new climatic conditions. In the context of international aspirations to identify ideas in the area of conservation of local ecosystems and creation of favorable conditions for human life and well-being, the Russian North presents a perfect site for testing daring and, at the same time, ethically and ecologically appropriate solutions to spatial development, creation of optimal life support systems, and conservation and activation of indigenous cultures. It is obvious that these objectives are of an integrative transdisciplinary character and, consequently, the key to their successful achievement is a synthesis of humanitarian, environmental and artistic modes of thinking based on design (technical esthetics) methods.

The research team of the Arctic Design project proposes its contribution to the solution of the issue of sustainable development in the Arctic/North and, in particular, problems of strategic transition from conquering the northern frontiers to onboarding life in the North. The project is aimed at systematizing and reconsidering the practices and methodologies in the area of design for extreme northern environments and at developing a prognostic model for the Arctic Design knowledge framework in the context of a new paradigm emerging in the development of the northern territories in Russia.

The core of this project is the School of Northern Design with its years of research and design expertise, which emerged within the Department of Industrial Design at the Ural State University of Architecture and Art (USUAA) in the early 1980s. Now this wealth of expertise has been given an outlet in the format that is very new for designers, a basic research study, thanks to support from the Russian Science Foundation (grant № 17-78-20047, 2017-2020).

Team

Team Leader

Svetlana G. Kravchuk

PhD. (Art Studies), Head of the Innovation and Creativity Lab within the Research Unit of USUAA

Team Members

Nikolai P. Garin

PhD. (Art Studies), Professor at the Industrial Design Department of USUAA, the founder and master-mind of the School of Northern Design

Nikita V. Klyusov

Master of Design, expert in digital graphics / 3D-visualizations, supplementary education instructor in the areas of laser, additive and milling technologies, and electronics

Nikolai A. Korgin

DSc. (Engineering), Associate Professor, Principal Researcher at the V.A. Trapeznikov Institute of Control Sciences, the Russian Academy of Sciences

Sofiya M. Prokopova

Master’s degree student, Industrial Design Department, Junior Research Associate at the Innovative Creativity Lab within USUAA’s Research Unit

Alexandra V. Rayeva

Master of Design, Junior Research Associate at the Innovative Creativity Lab within USUAA’s Research Unit

Anton V. Rayev

Master’s degree student, Industrial Design Department, USUAA

Former participants

Ilya V. Abramov

Darya S. Akimenko

Maria A. Gostyaeva

Julia S. Kon’kova

Denis A. Kukanov

Irina V. Myasnikova

Alexandra S. Trofimenko

Students and interns

Natalya Dedevich

Darya Zhukovskaya

Sofya Medvedeva

Maria Pokatayeva

Irina Surina

Alena Timoshenko

Marina Fionova

Ekaterina Formina

Ru En

Ru En

О проекте

Арктический дизайн: методы технической эстетики в освоении и развитии территорий Российского Севера


Один из основных вызовов современности – устойчивое развитие территорий – в циркумполярном арктическом измерении обретает планетарную значимость. Наряду с экономическими преимуществами, интенсивное промышленное освоение Арктики повлекло за собой масштабные преобразования окружающей среды, разрушение образа жизни и хозяйствования коренных народов, образование новой, зачастую конфликтной, субкультуры мобильных трудовых ресурсов. Для России проблема устойчивого развития этого региона как никогда актуальна: сегодня Арктика, а с ней и вся страна как крупнейшая северная держава, вступает в новую эру индустриального освоения, бурного экономического и инфраструктурного роста и – в новые климатические условия. На фоне мировой тенденции поиска идей по охране локальных экосистем и созданию благоприятных условий жизни и благополучия человека, Российский Север представляет собой идеальную площадку для апробации самых смелых и вместе с тем этически и экологически корректных решений в области пространственного освоения территорий, создания оптимальных систем жизнеобеспечения, сохранения и активации культурного капитала коренных народов. При этом очевидно, что данные задачи носят интегративный междисциплинарный характер, а, следовательно, залогом их успешного решения может стать синтез гуманитарного, экологически ориентированного и художественного видов мышления на основе методов технической эстетики.

В проекте «Арктический дизайн» команда исследователей предлагает свой вклад в решение проблем устойчивого развития Арктики/Севера и, в частности, проблемы стратегического перехода от покорения северных рубежей к освоению жизни на Севере. Проект направлен на систематизацию и переосмысление проектно-методического опыта в сфере проектирования для экстремальной среды Севера, а также на построение прогностической модели направления «Арктический дизайн» в контексте новой парадигмы развития северных территорий России. 

В основе данного проекта – многолетний исследовательский и проектный опыт подразделения «Школа Северного дизайна», сформировавшегося в стенах Уральского государственного архитектурно-художественного университета, на кафедре промышленного дизайна в начале 1980х гг. Возможность применить этот опыт в новом для дизайнеров формате фундаментального научного исследования появилась благодаря поддержке Российского научного фонда (грант № 17-78-20047, 2017-2020 гг.).

Команда

Руководитель

Кравчук Светлана Геннадьевна

Руководитель, кандидат искусствоведения, заведующая инновационно-творческой лабораторией НИЧ УрГАХУ

Участники

Гарин Николай Петрович

кандидат искусствоведения, основатель и руководитель Школы Северного дизайна

Клюсов Никита Викторович

магистр дизайна, специалист в области компьютерной графики / 3D-визуализации, педагог дополнительного образования в сфере лазерных, аддитивных, фрезерных технологий, электроники

Коргин Николай Андреевич

доктор технических наук, доцент, главный научный сотрудник Института проблем управления им. В.А. Трапезникова РАН

Прокопова Софья Михайловна

магистрант кафедры индустриального дизайна, м.н.с. инновационно-творческой лаборатории НИЧ УрГАХУ

Раева Александра Владимировна

магистр дизайна, м.н.с. инновационно-творческой лаборатории НИЧ УрГАХУ

Раев Антон Владимирович

магистрант кафедры индустриального дизайна, УрГАХУ

Участники прошлых лет

Абрамов Илья Викторович

Акименко Дарья Сергеевна

Гостяева Мария Андреевна

Конькова Юлия Сергеевна

Куканов Денис Алексеевич

Мясникова Ирина Вадимовна

Трофименко Александра Сергеевна

Студенты и стажеры

Дедевич Наталья

Жуковская Дарья

Медведева Софья

Покатаева Мария

Сурина Ирина

Тимошенко Алена

Фионова Марина

Фомина Екатерина

Ru En